On having it all – lessons in balance

Dots and Dahlias on etsy.com

This post marks the first in a series of reflections on my first year with Seven Layer Designs.   If you regularly read this blog, you know that we are celebrating our 1st birthday.   Over the next week or 2, I will be taking some time to write about my experiences over the past year.   I am no expert, nothing qualifies me to make any statements about what works and what doesn’t, I am just sharing my experiences for any who might be interested.

If you’re not interested, just hold on and some more photos and designs and web inspiration and diy tutorials will be along soon!

The following is a direct excerpt from my journal

“I want to be so much; successful with Seven Layer Designs, a mom who bakes and makes warm breakfast and cleans the whole house spotless, serving in my church, building relationships and friendships (we recently moved), serving in my community, a fun and playful mother… Is this too many things?”

I say yes…Yes…YES.  This is too many things.  At least all at once.

Balance.  This is one of the 5 or so statements that I can trace most of my problems back to (and also the topics of my series).  I would like to pause here and say, “Shout out to all the Supermoms.”  I know they exist, and I don’t mean this in a snarky, “they-must-be-so-anal-and-tired-trying-to-keep-everything-together” way.  I really mean Yaaahhh Whoooo to you.  There are women who can balance work, home, social life and more with out even breaking a sweat.  Some women really can have it all.  But for me, the idea of “having it all” had to be tweaked a bit.

While I may want to do more baking and more crafting and more sewing and more decorating and keep SLD going and spend lots-o-quality time with my family, I have to be reasonable and realize, that all these things can not happen simultaneously.  One week, I may have time for some extra baking, then it might be all SLD the following week, while I play catch up with the house work on week 3, I can spend time with my daughter in between chores.  It is a learning process and from week to week, but there is progress being made.

Some points on finding balance

  1. Don’t cram the day – I plan a loose schedule with blocks of time and tasks I would like to accomplish.  For example, I block the time like this: (1)wake up – lunch, (2)nap time, (3)wake up – dinner, (4)Saida’s bedtime – my bedtime.   Then I list the things I would like to accomplish in the week, and schedule them into a block of time that will be appropriate to complete the task.  When the time comes, I know what needs to be done and I can do it.  NOTE** As we all know, it is pretty important to not use the precious time when children sleep to pin or get on facebook, the next thing you know, they are up and you have gotten no where.  I just try to plan computer time into the day or week and be as quick as I can when I find myself online other times.
  2. Know your sleep tolerance – for awhile, I thought I could “do it all” by staying up all hours and waking with the sun.  This does not work for me.
  3. Know what YOU need.  I recently started journaling after a long time away from the discipline.  It took me about 5 words to realize this was really missing from my life.  It makes me feel more settled and rounded when I have time to sort my thoughts out with a pen and paper.  I also like to try and get up for a cup of warm coffee before my daughter awakens.
  4. It is more important to enjoy than accomplish (more on this when we talk about perspective.)

Over at Design*Sponge, the Biz Ladies recently posted an article on stress that illustrates the importance of balance and some tips on finding it.

5 thoughts on “On having it all – lessons in balance

  1. Pingback: #2 – On having it NOW – Lessons in Patience. | seven layer designs

  2. “Know what YOU need. I recently started journaling after a long time away from the discipline. It took me about 5 words to realize this was really missing from my life. It makes me feel more settled and rounded when I have time to sort my thoughts out with a pen and paper. I also like to try and get up for a cup of warm coffee before my daughter awakens.”

    Jess, I totally agree with you. I just started journaling/writing/blogging whatever you want to call it again after I stumbled across my old journals. I realized that I haven’t really written down my thoughts or feeling since college. It IS so important to take time for ourselves each day to spend with God, think, reflect, or just be quiet before the craziness of each day consumes us!

  3. Pingback: #3 – On letting it be what it is – Lessons in perfectionism | seven layer designs

  4. Pingback: Annual Report… a few months late, but a recap of year 2 and plans for year 3 | Seven Layer Designs

Leave a Reply

