Random Friday Post…which turned into a Saturday post

1.  This week, I pre-ordered the silhouette cameo.  I AM SO EXCITED!!  After much discussion on which cutting machine to purchase, I decided on the silhouette, and back when I decided (july I think), the Cameo had just been announced for release in October.  So when I was offered the opportunity to pre-order with free shipping… DONE.  I can’t wait to see what fun new things I can do with this machine.  YIPPEE.  And now that it’s October…I am, getting closer to getting my hands on this machine.  I just can’t wait!  Thanks to anyone who bought something from SLD over the past year…this was your anniversary present to us.

2.  I have decided to start putting some spare time into my etsy shop.  I am going to be honest, I have had mixed feelings about etsy.  I set up my shop really to have a place to send clients, not as a place to get recognized.  It is such a big pond to stand out in.  I am not exactly sure why, but I have been hesitant to put too much time and energy into my shop…skeptical maybe, I am not one to jump on trendy things.  Nothing against Etsy, it is a great place and handmade is a great great thing.

Well, now I am thinking that over the next 6 months or so, I am going to put more time in and see if I can increase some of my traffic.  I have set a budget (a pretty low one for now) and some goals for my shop, like new listings and improving my photos, tags and descriptions for searches.  I will spend some time on advertising and showcasing my products.  I am going to actually read the “etsy success” newsletter and start taking advantage of the other educational opportunities and tips available on the site and slowly make improvements to my shop.  Looking forward to being more connected with the community and seeing if my shop benefits from my efforts.  I will let you know how it goes.  So far I am really enjoying it.  It’s fun.

3. The creative slump and general rut has lifted.  I am making and working and have all kinds of ideas again!  This makes me a happy camper.

3. and lastly, I love embroidery hoops.

kuko the brave

Thinking about something like this for Christmas this year, with a tree, or ornaments or something festive.

via design editor

via Martha Stewart

Follow my board on Pinterest if you love them too.

One thought on “Random Friday Post…which turned into a Saturday post

Leave a Reply

