on blogging

This post has been rolling around in my head for a while now.  I have mentioned that I am taking some time to focus on blogging as I work on setting up a new website and blog.  I am reading through Blog and Business Workshop Workbook that I found over at Marta Writes.  She, well, rather her blog has quickly become my personal blog coach.

When thinking about the purpose of my blog, I have been going back and forth since I have started writing.  When I started blogging, I called it At Home and was blogging about stay-at-home mommy stuff.  When I started Seven Layer Designs, I decided to focus more on business and blogging and keep the personal stories, except those that related to being a small biz owner and all that comes with it, off of the blog.

My reasoning varies from moment to moment.

Before I go into it, I have to apologize in advance for any potential offending that may occur.  Many of those who read this blog, blog themselves, and I just want to say that I am in NO NO NO way referring to any specific blog or style of writing, these are just my own thoughts on what I want my blog to be about.  How am I contributing to this wonderful community and why should people spend their precious time reading?  I love reading blogs of all shapes and sizes some are all biz tips, some are all mommy life, some are paper and inspirations, and I love them all.

First there is the issue of blogging jealousy.  Sometimes I read blogs of seemingly perfect women, being perfect moms, stellar wives,  running amazing businesses, looking hip, cooking and baking and decorating like a champion and I end up feeling so inept.  Like my life is a mess.  This is my own issue, I know,  but at the same time, I found myself not wanting to contribute to other people feeling inept.  I didn’t want to start down a road of trying to paint a picture perfect portrayal of my life.  Trying to seem like I have it all together, cataloging all the perfect moments from my life and living to find bloggable moments.  Again, I qualify, these are my issues, I am not trying to suggest that other women do this.  I did read this post on blogging  jealousy (guess where I found it?!?!), and I found some encouragement there.  As I start to think of blogging as interacting with a community of like-minded people, it makes more sense to me to write about the day-to-day stuff,  but on the whole, I am still feeling unsettled on the topic.

A second issue I mull over, is when I don’t get personal enough, I think it can get boring to read… and write.  Some of my favorite posts were written over on At Home, like this one and this one.  And they had nothing to do with Seven Layer Designs.  Plus, I really like looking back through it and remembering what was happening at different times.  I think that focusing solely on the business, takes some of my passion away.  Blogging used to be like a home away from home.  Like I was so excited to sit down and share.  But when it became solely about business, it somehow became more of a chore, and adding in the personal information when it was necessary for context, just felt awkward.  This is not how it should be.  Blogging should be like a cozy, comfy place.  Like a cup of coffee and a fresh journal.

So is that it, is it just a journal…for narcissists??  There has to be some reason to do it for all to read, right.  Something to say?  Is it just to find a connection?  I have a difficult time answering the question, ‘Am I blogging for myself or for my audience.’  I feel like authenticity demands the former, but why am I putting my thoughts on the out in the blog-o-sphere if it is not for the latter?

And why do I love it so?

So I feel like I am constantly looking for that middle ground.

No fancy conclusions here… hopefully I will continue to find more clarity as I read and write on the topic.

What about you?  If you are a blogger, what do you want your purpose to be in blogging?  And for the readers, what keeps you lingering? what brings you back?  What topics interests you when you are reading a blog?  I would love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “on blogging

  1. I blog for many reasons. One, some people in my life love details. Some don’t. I hate repeating myself so I wanted to give all the details for our far-away families just once (or at least way less-often) for those that wanted the details. For those that don’t they can come and go from my blog as they please when they want an update.
    Also, I want like a little scrapbook of my life since I’m too busy to actually scrapbook right now. Someday when my life settles down, it’s all in the blog waiting for me, so I don’t forget.
    I also like to get stuff off my chest sometimes…like a diary. I don’t really have many walls with my life and try to just be real; I can see how others might feel sharing as openly as I do “online” would be a struggle…I think if people out there want to bother reading my blog, why not just be open?
    Also, my kids are cute and grandparents, aunts & uncles & friends NEED to see about several hundred pictures of them PER DAY, right?

  2. My blog started because Katie isn’t on Facebook, so she couldn’t see pictures. Since I needed an easy way to show her pictures from my Italy trip, I figured I’d start a travel blog–mostly for me, but it’s also a way for my family and close friends to hear the details of my trips. (My family used to follow a person around the house when he or she returned from a trip to hear all the details. We don’t exactly all live together now, so that practice has gone by the wayside, obviously.) I originally thought it would be mainly for large trips, but since Steve’s such a great photographer, I’ve expanded it to cover some of our smaller trips, as well, such as NYC and DC.

    I also love, love, LOVE my sister and sister-in-law’s blogs that keep me updated on my niece and nephews. They grow so quickly, and I love seeing all the pictures.

  3. The posts you mentioned are also some of my favorites of yours, and I loved being able to read about your life, especially being so far away. Knowing your voice, it was like sitting down together over a cup of coffee and chatting about life (babies, cooking, crafts, business, etc.).

    I blog because I like to write, and I love the craft of doing something creative for myself. I too wrestle with why I do it, but last year I participated in a photo-a-day & devotional-type musings on scripture blog entries as a Lent project that gave me some direction and purpose For the craft of writing I sometimes participate in a writing workshop w/ Mama Kat on her site: Mama’s Losing It.

    For reading, I love the following: 7 Layer Designs (of course), E Tells Tales, Tales of Me and the Husband, Green Eggs and Hammes, and Motley Mama.

    I wish you all the best as you search for clarity.

  4. Pingback: Still in Process: Some blog-clusions | seven layer designs

Leave a Reply

