let’s go fly a kite…

Current circumstances over here at The House of Gus, have *sniff, sniff* ruled out any chance of making invites for Saida’s birthday.  This is fine, because (1) we are planning  a low key family gathering, (2) Ben and I are off for a get-a-way, thanks to his awesome parents who agreed to come in town early for Saida’s day, so we could get some time away! and (3) things have been wonderfully full with Seven Layer Designs.  I love the new invites I have been working on!  …but alas, I do love the papel, so, I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed that I was not able to see my vision through for my daughters bithday.  I am hoping I will get to them at some point, just to put in the shop.

Sweet Saida has a slight Mary Poppins obsession.  She has more recently been drawn to the “let’s go fly a kite” number at the end.  Where a Mary Poppins party requires way more time and effort than this party is going to recieve, I figured, I could throw a few kite themed elements into the mix and call it a party.

I am working on finishing up a banner…(fingers crossed), and I am thrilled to see how her cake comes together.  But the other night, while looking for something online…I, as I often do, followed a rabbit trail!

Take a look at some of these lovely kite themed parties.

Yellow red blue kids party kites

Cute little touches abound in this yellow and blue party, found over at thewhitelibrary.com

Take a look at this festive party photographed by Jackie over at jackiewonders.com

kite party

Love this sweet and simple color scheme... and take a look at that cake!! See more lovely shots at mrsainthecove.com

Ours will look nothing like these, but the house will be full ofcousins and an auntie and uncle and grandparents that Saida holds dear, and Ben and I will have just returned from 3 days of coupleness, and we will celebrate the wonder that is a 2-year-old Saida…

…and it will be just as lovely.

One thought on “let’s go fly a kite…

Leave a Reply

